Standing on the south bank of the Yellow River and looking to the north side, we can see a cluster of buildings in the White Pagoda Hill Park. The park was built in 1958 in an area of more than 8000 square meters. It combines stone steps, stone walls, pavilions and cloisters to form a well arranged layout, which is a unique architectural style in traditional Chinese buildings. All buildings in the architectural complex are decorated with brick carvings, wood carvings and color paintings.
The White Pagoda Temple was established in the Yuan Dynasty (1271-1368). The existing pagoda was rebuilt in the reign of Emperor Jingtai of the Ming Dynasty (1450-1456). The pagoda, 17 meters in height, has seven layers and eight sides with a green top and round base. Coated in a white covering, it is called the “White Pagoda”. It has survived a number of earthquakes and still stands firmly, showing the wisdom and talent of traditional Chinese people in the architectural arts.
The temple used to have three treasures: an elephant skin drum, a bronze bell and a bauhinia tree. It is said that the elephant skin drum was presented as a gift by an Indian monk when he wandered around the area. Now, only replica is available. The bronze bell, kept in the temple, is 153.5 kilogram in weight. It was manufactured during the reign of Qing Emperor Kangxi (1661-1722).
The bauhinia tree was planted by the descendants. There is a Peony Pavilion at the north end of the mountain that houses a stone monument built in the Qing Dynasty in the 11th year of the Xianfeng period (1861).
To the northwest of White Pagoda Hill, there are dense woods and continuous mountains. In the depth of thick shadows, pavilions are available where tourists can rest in front of a refreshing pool. It goes without saying that it is a good place for sightseeing and preventing sunstroke.